Board of Directors

The WQED Multimedia Board of Directors is a volunteer group of people from the community who set the mission and strategic direction of WQED.

The Board is composed of no fewer than 20 and no more than 31 members, all of whom are elected at the Annual Meeting and represent the WQED viewing area.

The Board meets four times a year, with a combined meeting with the Community Advisory Board (CAB) at the annual meeting.

  • December 7, 2017, 5pm
  • March 15, 2018, 5pm
  • June 21, 2018, 5pm
  • September 27, 2018, 6pm – Annual Meeting

The Board has six standing committees which meet throughout the year:

  • Executive and Corporate Planning
  • Content and Distribution
  • Finance, Business and Operations
  • Audit
  • Governance
  • Development

All board and committee meetings of WQED are open to the public. They are held in the Hillman Conference Room at WQED, 4802 Fifth Avenue, Oakland.

FY 2018 Schedule

Thursday, October 12, 2017 – 4pm 

Development Committee meeting

Monday, November 27, 2017 – 8am

Committee Day

Thursday, February 22, 2018 – 2:00 pm

Committee Day

Thursday, May 24, 2018 – 2:00 pm

Committee Day

Thursday, September 6, 2018 - 2:00 pm 

Committee Day

Thursday, September 13, 2018 – 8:00am 

Finance, Business and Operations Committee Meeting

Committee Days Schedule
2:00 Development Committee
3:00 Governance Committee
4:00 Content and Distribution Committee
5:00 Finance, Business and Operations Committee

Board Members

Tom McGough, Chair

Deborah L. Acklin

Georgia Berner

Marcela Bohm-Velez

Nancy Bromall Barry

Debra L. Caplan

Mary Ann Dunham

Joy Evans

Christine Fulton

Josh Knauer

Jason Lange

Joe Manich

Robert McCutcheon

Max F. Miller

Gail Novak Mosites

Carl Moulton

Mildred S. Myers

Cassandra Pan

Conor Platt

James Singer

Frances Stewart

David Thuma

Caroline West


WQED Officers

Chair - Tom McGough

President and Chief Executive Officer - Deborah L. Acklin

Vice Chair and Secretary -  Mildred S. Myers

Vice Chair and Treasurer - Nancy Bromall Barry

Vice Chair - James Singer

Community Advisory Board

Alison Wolfson, Chair

Robert Aber

Albert Abramovic

Gisele Barreto Fetterman

Michael Bielski

Gina Blackburn

Paul Block

Nicholas Cafardi

Kim Cauley Eckel

Betty Cruz

Marlon Ferguson

Timothy Flynn

Michelle Gerwick

Michael Grzesiak

Nancy Hines

Paul Homick

Jan Jones

Kelly Kochamba Wesolosky

Linda McCaulley

Suzi Neft

Karlye Rowles

LaWana Simmons

Mell Steven-Cosnek

Susan Stuart

Sarah Thurston

Kristopher Veenis

Robyn Vittek